Gov. Ron DeSantis issued a state of emergency for four Florida counties after severe storms moved through the state on Saturday.

Executive Order 22-56 covers areas in Northeast and Central Florida and includes Clay, Highlands, Marion and Putnam Counties.


The statement from the governor's office went on to read "during the morning and early afternoon hours of March 12, 2022, a powerful cold front brought multiple severe weather hazards across Northeast and Central Florida generating heavy rain, thunderstorms, strong straight-line winds, and isolated tornadoes resulting in widespread power outages and damages".

The cold front brought heavy wind and rains to Central Florida, with Marion County getting the brunt of the damage.