BREVARD COUNTY, Fla. – Florida Highway Patrol held a ceremony Friday to honor three fallen troopers by designating a portion of roadways in their name. 

What You Need To Know

  • Fallen troopers honored Friday

  • Roadway dedication ceremony held for three troopers

  • The troopers were killed in traffic accidents

Troopers Halley C. Strickland and Joseph N. Sawtell, Jr. were stationed here in Brevard County, while patrolman Leroy C. Bender was stationed out of Sanford.

The stretch of U.S.-1 between E. Main Street and Parrish Bay Road in Titusville will be dedicated in remembrance of Strickland. Babcock Street between Malabar Road and Palm Bay Road in Palm Bay will be dedicated to Sawtell, Jr.

The stretch of W 1st Street, between French Avenue and S. Mellonville Avenue in Sanford will be dedicated in remembrance of Bender.

The roadway signs will be unveiled this weekend on the newly designated roads​.

"Today, nearly sixty years later we honor three of these brave troopers, who faithfully and fearlessly performed their duties as a Florida Highway Patrol Trooper,” said Colonel Gene S. Spaulding, Florida Highway Patrol director.

All three of the troopers were killed in traffic accidents and FHP wanted to make sure everyone slows down, don't drive distracted and make sure you move over when police are present on the side of the road.