Central Florida voters in five counties voted in city elections. Overall, it was a good night to be an incumbent.

  • Orlando incumbents win in city commission races
  • Former wrestler wins Longwood race



In Orlando, three incumbent commissioners were able to hold off challenges.


In District 1, Commissioner Jim Gray easily won re-election, beating developer Tom Keen 53-40.

Commissioner Robert Stuart beat challenger Asima Azam in a very heated District 3 race, 51-49. The margin of votes was slim -- only 117 votes.

Commissioner Regina Hill also won re-election in District 5. Hill easily beat everyone in a very crowded field of challengers, but because of city rules she just barely passed the 50 percent plus 1 threshold to avoid a run-off.

Mayor Buddy Dyer had endorsed all three incumbents.

"You know, each of them in their own way has done a great job as a city commissioner. I generally get involved in open-seat races, but if I have an incumbent that I think has done a good job, then I generally support them," Dyer said.

Dyer just last week announced he is running for re-election in 2019.

But according to UCf political science Professor Aubrey Jewett, Tuesday's vote could be a referendum on him as well.

“Since Mayor Dyer has gone out and endorsed all three of these incumbents, if one or more of them is to lose, that it would reflect poorly on the mayor, that the mayor would then have to say, 'Well, maybe some of the citizens are not happy with the direction of the city,'" said Jewett.

Seminole County

In Longwood, two challengers unseated incumbents and will take seats on the city commission, including a former professional wrestler. 

Matt Morgan beat incumbent Mark Weller to Longwood Commission District 4, 58-42. Morgan, a former "American Gladiator" and WWE Wrestler known as "The Blueprint," campaigned on focusing on the city's fire and police departments.

Abby Shoemaker unseated District 1 Commissioner John Maingot, 58-42. 

Richard Drummond will take the District 2 seat after defeating opponent Michael Dodane, 53-47.

In Oviedo, incumbent Mayor Dominic Persampiere held off a challenge from Charlene Larney, 67-33, while incumbent District 1 Council member Steve Henken beat challenger Patrick Westerfield, 63-37.

Volusia County

 In Lake Helen city elections, Daisy Raisler will be the new mayor, winning 58-42 against Joe Hammett. Lake Helen Zone 1 Commissioner Tom Wilson held off a challenge from incumbent Ann Robbins, 51 to 49.

Brevard County

Several cities in Brevard County had elections.

In Indialantic, incumbents Randy Greer and Dick Dunn will hold onto Seats 1 and 3, respectively.

In Malabar, Incumbent Dick Korn won re-election for District 4, while Danny White won District 5.

In Melbourne Beach, incumbent Sherri Quarrie will stay in the At-Large seat. 

And in Rockledge, Sammie Brown Martin will join the council for Seat 3.

Lake County

In Lake County, several incumbents also got to keep their seats.

In Clermont, Ray Goodgame was re-elected to Seat 2. But Keith Mullins lost Seat 4 to challenger Heidi Brishke.

In Groveland, incumbent Mike Radzik won re-election for District 2. Duane Smith won District 4, beating Chris Walker.  

In Mascotte, incumbent Steven Sheffield won re-election to Mascotte Council Seat 5.

In Minneola, Joseph Saunders will hold onto his seat after fending off two challengers.

And in Mount Dora, Harmon Massey won the At-Large seat on the council, beating Jim Murray, 57-43.