Breakfast of Champions highlights top athletes in Seminole County

By Zach Aldridge, Spectrum Sports
Last Updated: Thursday, May 18, 2017, 3:14 PM EDT


An impressive group of athletes filled up the room inside the Lake Mary Events Center for the Seminole County Breakfast of Champions Tuesday morning.. Thirty-three student athletes and one coach were honored, the best of the best in one room.

“It’s honestly so cool,” said Oviedo sophomore Savannah Vach, the Seminole County girls volleyball Player of the Year.

“It’s amazing to be a part of something like this. Everything that we’ve been through, all the hard work we’ve put in makes it worth it when you get to come to events like this.”

“It’s nice to see other’s who put in the same amount of hard work,” said Seminole junior Ashton Neff, the Seminole County boys soccer Player of the Year.

While a fair share of the honorees won a state title in their respective sport, Lake Mary finished state runner-up in volleyball and it gives Diego Villafane some extra motivation.

“Getting second at state it makes me want to work harder and I hope everyone else here wants to work harder for next season,” said Villafane, the Seminole County boys volleyball player of the year.

“I want to come here next year and hopefully be the athlete of the year again, but this time with a state championship.”

For some, it was their first time being honored, others not so much. Hagerty’s Ashley Boddiford was named the girls swimming and diving athlete of the year for the fourth time in a row. Next fall she'll be swimming for the US Naval Academy.

“It’s really cool to see everyone else who is successful in other sports” the Seminole County girls swimmer of the year said. “Because since I spend a lot of time swimming I never get to see what everyone else is doing.”

With four individual state champions and a number of team titles, it was another banner year for Seminole County.

“Quite humbling to be in a room with so much time effort and dedication,” said Scott Waisanen, the Oviedo girls soccer head coach and Seminole County Coach of the Year. “They’re not just good athletes, they’re great students too.”

Breakfast of Champions continues on May 22 where Spectrum Sports will honor the top athletes in Osceola County.

The complete list of Seminole County winners is below:



Garrett Green

Lake Howell High School

Girls Basketball

Shania Meertens

Winter Springs High School

Boys Basketball

Ivan Smith

Oviedo High School

Girls Bowling

Katelyn Jones

Oviedo High School

Boys Bowling

Robert Poole

Lake Mary High School


Brooke Bingham

Lake Mary High School

Girls Cross Country

Elayna Bahr

Winter Springs High School

Boys Cross Country

Matthew Doyle

Winter Springs High School

Football Defense

DeMarco Artis

Seminole High School

Football Offense

Gabriel Davis

Seminole High School

Girls Golf

Mimi Chen

Lake Mary Prep

Boys Golf

Thomas Allkins

Lake Mary Prep

Girls Lacrosse

Katie Williams

Hagerty High School

Boys Lacrosse

Nick Platt

Lake Mary High School

Girls Soccer

Madison Allen

Oviedo High School

Boys Soccer

Ashton Neff

Seminole High School


Georgina Corrick

Seminole High School

Girls Swimming & Diving

Ashley Boddiford

Hagerty High School

Boys Swimming & Diving

John Fulginiti

Hagerty High School

Girls Tennis

Samantha Maras

Lake Mary High School

Boys Tennis

David Gorshein

Lake Mary High School

Girls Track & Field

Haidyn Turner

Winter Springs High School

Boys Track & Field

Tyreek Thyme

Lyman High School

Girls Volleyball

Savannah Vach

Oviedo High School

Boys Volleyball

Diego Villafane

Lake Mary High School

Girls Water Polo

Dezirea Straub

Lake Brantley High School

Boys Water Polo

Ryan Ackerson

Seminole High School

Girls Weightlifting

Judith Mandujano

Lake Mary High School

Boys Weightlifting

Leonardo Gomez

Hagerty High School


Max Wohlabaugh

Winter Springs High School

Girls Scholar Athlete

Abigail Swisher

Lake Brantley High School

Boys Scholar Athlete

Bryce Nguygen

Lake Brantley High School

Spectrum Sports Scholarship

MaKenna Lehmann

Hagerty High School

Coach of the Year

Scott Waisanen

Ovideo High School