FBI investigating threats to Maitland Jewish center, others across U.S.

By Bailey Myers, Reporter
Last Updated: Thursday, January 19, 2017, 6:01 PM EST

The FBI is looking at possible connections between bomb threats made to a local Jewish Community Center, and dozens of others made the same day across the country.

The Roth Jewish Community Center of Greater Orlando received a bomb threat Wednesday. That call marks their third threat in January.

Now the Anti-Defamation league claims dozens of other centers in 17 other states received bomb threats that same day.

The ADL issued security warnings to Jewish institutions nationwide Wednesday because of the threats. 

“Although so far these threats do not appear to be credible, we are recommending that Jewish communal institutions review their security procedures and remain in close contact with law enforcement,” said ADL CEO Jonathan A. Greenblatt in a statement posted on the Anti-Defamation League website. “While each incident needs to be taken seriously and investigated closely, thus far we are not aware of any of these threats being substantiated.”

Parents of kids who frequently visit the center said they are concerned.

"You never want your child to feel unsafe," said Erika Grabish, who visits the center with her children. "No person wants to feel unsafe."

But Grabish and other parents said while they're worried the threats could turn into something more, they will not let them intimidate their families.

"I can't leave my Jewish community behind out of fear. That would be...giving in," said Erika Grabish, who visits the center with her children.

The center reopened after it was cleared.

The FBI said it's working with the Justice Departments Civil Rights division, and is investigating possible civil rights violation in connection with threats to Jewish community centers.

The ADL says bomb threats were reported Wednesday in New York, New Jersey, Ohio, Florida, Massachusetts, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Delaware, Connecticut, Alabama, California, Maine, Tennessee, South Carolina, Missouri, Texas and Kansas.